MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCRUTINY

MINUTES

Wednesday 8 September 2021, 10:30am Remote meeting via Zoom

Present:

Mr Graham Allen (Chair), Mr Ian Wright (Secretary), Mrs Rachel Rowe (Support Officer), Dr Karen Ottewell, Professor Martin Jones, Dr John Fawcett, Dr David Butterfield, Professor Richard Mortier, and Dr Annamaria Motrescu-Mayes.

The meeting began at 10:34am.

1. Apologies:

Apologies were received from Dr Gilly Carr, Dr Mark Smith and Mr David Goode. Mr Gavin Flynn was not in attendance.

2. Declarations of Interest:

None.

3. Minutes of the meeting held on 21 July 2021:

The minutes were confirmed as a correct record.

4. Matters arising:

a.) Membership:

The following people have been elected to serve from 1 October 2021: Class ci) Professor Richard Mortier; Class cii) Mr Graham Allen, Dr Robert Doubleday, Dr Orsola Rath Spivack and Ms Jocelyn Wyburd. Mr Graham Allen agreed to serve for two years, and the other new members will serve for four years. A Grace to that effect will be published in early Michaelmas term.

5. 26th Report:

The Board briefly discussed the content of each section of the Report and the recommendations to Council. The Report will be submitted to the Registrary for factual comment on 13 September.

6. Any Other Business:

None.

7. Date of next full Board meeting:

The next meeting will be at 10:30am on Wednesday 29 September to discuss the factual comments received from the Registrary (format of meeting to be confirmed). The proposed date of the Board Handover Meeting is Wednesday 6 October (time and format to be confirmed)

The meeting closed at 11:25am.

Rachel Rowe Support Officer