### **MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCRUTINY**

# MINUTES

# Friday 6 September 2019, 1:00pm Henry Cavendish Room, Peterhouse

#### Present:

Dr Karen Ottewell (Secretary), Mrs Rachel Rowe (Support Officer), Mr Ian Wright, Dr Richard Mortier, Dr Carmel McEniery, Ms Edna Murphy, Mr Francis Knights, Professor Martin Jones, and Dr Timothy Dickens.

The meeting began at 1:02pm. Dr Karen Ottewell assumed the role of Chair in Mr David Goode's absence.

## 1. Apologies:

Apologies were received from Mr David Goode (Chair), Mr Graham Allen, Dr Gemma Burgess, and Mr Timothy Milner.

## 2. Declarations of interest:

Ms Edna Murphy informed the Board she had been elected to serve on the Bursars' Business Committee for this coming academic year, which may be a potential conflict going forward.

### 3. Minutes of meetings on 1 July & 23 August 2019:

The minutes of the meetings held on 1 July and 23 August 2019 were confirmed as a correct record.

# 4. Matters arising:

It was confirmed that Ms Saba Ala'i and Dr David Butterfield had been elected to serve on the Board for the coming academic year, and the incoming Pro-Proctors would be Dr Karen Ottewell (Senior Pro-Proctor) and Dr Annamaria Motrescu-Mayes (Junior Pro-Proctor).

# 5. Completing the 24<sup>th</sup> Annual Report of the Board:

The Board discussed the final draft of the Report and continued refining the content. The Report is due to be submitted to Council by 30 September.

#### 6. Any other business:

None.

# 7. Dates of Handover Meeting:

The Handover Meeting will be on Wednesday 2 October 2019 at 12:15pm at Peterhouse, subject to confirmation.

The meeting closed at 2:11pm.

Support Officer