MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCRUTINY

MINUTES

Wednesday 8 May 2019, 12:15pm Henry Cavendish Room, Peterhouse

Present:

Mr David Goode (Chair), Dr Karen Ottewell (Secretary), Mrs Rachel Rowe (Support Officer), Mr Ian Wright, Professor Martin Jones, Dr Richard Mortier, Mr Graham Allen, Dr Timothy Dickens, Dr Carmel McEniery, and Mr Francis Knights.

The meeting began at 12:22pm.

1. Apologies:

Apologies were received from Dr Gemma Burgess, Ms Edna Murphy and Mr Tim Milner.

2. Declarations of interest:

None.

3. Minutes of previous meeting:

The minutes of the meeting held on 24 April 2019 were confirmed as a correct record.

4. Matters arising:

The Board are still awaiting confirmation of the terms of reference regarding the issue of legal privilege.

5. Elections to the Board (including Bursar replacement):

The Board discussed possible candidates for nomination in the next Board election, and members were asked to continue considering suitable applicants to approach. The deadline for nominations is midday on Thursday 6 June. Voting closes on 28 June and the result will be published on 3 July.

6. Progress reports from working groups:

There was a brief discussion from the working groups on recent and upcoming meetings.

7. Preparing the 24th Annual Report of the Board:

The Board discussed the topics to include in the Annual Report and were encouraged to begin writing the content of the Report using the Google Team Drive, with the aim of having the first draft completed for the meeting on 5 June.

8. Any other business:

None.

9. Dates of future meetings:

The next meeting will take place on Wednesday 22 May at 12:15pm at Peterhouse.

The meeting closed at 2:00pm.

Rachel Rowe Support Officer