MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCRUTINY

MINUTES

Wednesday 24 April 2019, 12:15pm Henry Cavendish Room, Peterhouse

Present:

Mr David Goode (Chair), Dr Karen Ottewell (Secretary), Mrs Rachel Rowe (Support Officer), Mr Ian Wright, Professor Martin Jones, Dr Richard Mortier, Mr Francis Knights, and Ms Edna Murphy.

The meeting began at 12:19pm.

1. Apologies:

Apologies were received from Dr Gemma Burgess, Mr Graham Allen, Dr Timothy Dickens, Dr Carmel McEniery and Mr Timothy Milner.

2. Declarations of interest:

None.

3. Minutes of previous meeting:

The minutes of the meeting held on 13 March 2019 were confirmed as a correct record, subject to the following corrections;

- Moving Dr Richard Mortier from the list of attendees to the list of apologies; and
- An amendment to Item 7 from Mr Timothy Milner, who also sent an amendment to Item 1 of the minutes from the meeting on 6 February.

4. Matters arising:

The Chair updated the Board on a provisional agreement made with the Registrary and Acting Head of Legal Services on the issue of legal privilege. The Board are awaiting confirmation of the terms of reference.

5. Elections to the Board (including Bursar replacement):

The Board were informed that four members are coming to the end of their term, and therefore an election will be held for the new academic year. Three of those four members are eligible for reelection. The Board discussed the need to find a replacement Bursar among the new members.

6. Progress reports from working groups:

The Finance working group reported on their recent meeting with Jason Matthews.

7. Preparing the 24th Annual Report of the Board:

The Board began discussions on the formation of this year's Annual Report, and agreed to start considering the format of the Report and key issues for inclusion.

8. Any other business:

None.

9. Dates of future meetings:

The next meeting will take place on Wednesday 8 May at 12:15pm at Peterhouse.

The meeting closed at 2:05pm.

Rachel Rowe Support Officer