# Minutes of a Meeting of the Board of Scrutiny

# 20 May 2025; 3pm; Council Room, Murray Edwards College

In attendance Mr R Hopwood (Chair) Dr J Plummer Braeckman (Secretary) Dr R Doubleday Dr S Cowley Professor W Evans Dr M Gehring Dr O Rath Spivack Apologies Dr R Lloyd Dr N Habib Dr F Mir Dr M Parker Dixon Dr B Spagnolo

Ms S Greaves (Administrator)

#### 1. Apologies

Apologies were noted from Drs R Lloyd, N Habib, F Mir, M Parker Dixon and B Spagnolo.

#### 2. Declarations of Interest

Declarations of interest were noted.

#### 3. Minutes of the meeting held on 19 March 2025

The minutes of the meeting held on 19 March 2025 (Paper A) were received and approved.

#### 4. Matters arising from the minutes not already on the agenda

The Board noted some feedback on the University's leadership development programme.

#### 5. Consideration of the Secretary of the Board

The Board elected Dr Plummer Braeckman as Secretary for the remainder of the academic year to cover Dr Lloyd's leave.

#### 6. Matters arising from the election of the Chancellor

The Board noted that Professor Evans is standing for election as Chancellor. It was **agreed** that, if nominated, he would pause his membership of the Board for the period of the election.

### 7. Timeline for the Report

The Board raised concerns that they have not been granted access to some of the reports that they have requested from the University.

It was **agreed** to make 10 recommendations from the areas of Finance, Estates, People, Education, and Sustainability. There will also be a separate section on transformation programmes.

It was **agreed** that the first draft will be completed in July, at which point the Board will meet to discuss next steps.

# Action: Administrator to the Board

Drs Gehring and Doubleday left the meeting.

### 8. Any Other Business

The Board considered an email sent to them and **agreed** that this is not within their remit to respond.

The Chair reminded the Board that elections for membership will happen in June/July and asked current members to encourage colleagues for nomination.

The next meeting will be at midday on Wednesday 21 May 2025 at Murray Edwards College.