#### MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCRUTINY

# **MINUTES**

# Wednesday 16 May 2018, 12:15pm Henry Cavendish Room, Peterhouse

#### Present:

Mr Tim Milner (Chair), Mr David Goode (Secretary), Mrs Rachel Rowe (Support Officer), Dr Gemma Burgess, Dr Karen Ottewell, Professor Martin Jones, Dr Carmel McEniery, Mr Ian Wright, Mr Graham Allen, and Dr Richard Mortier.

The meeting began at 12:22pm.

#### 1. Apologies:

Apologies were received from Dr John Xuereb, Dr Liz Morfoot and Ms Edna Murphy.

#### 2. Declarations of interest:

None.

#### 3. Minutes of previous meeting:

The minutes of the meeting held on 2 May 2018 were confirmed as a correct record subject to three amendments to Item 7.

#### 4. Matters arising:

None.

#### 5. Letter from Professors Yates, Edwards and Smith:

A letter was received by the Board regarding the circumstances of a recent ballot. The Board discussed it and considered possible future action to take.

# 6. Progress reports from Working Groups on sections of the 23<sup>rd</sup> Report:

Updates were received from the Finance, Estates, Education, Research, Governance and HR Working Groups. It was agreed that in addition to including brief summaries on these topics, the Report will focus on three overarching themes of Finance, Resource and Governance.

# 7. Dates of future meetings:

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 30 May at 12:15pm at Peterhouse.

# 8. Any other business:

None.

The meeting closed at 2pm.

**Rachel Rowe, Support Officer**