MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCRUTINY

MINUTES

Wednesday 22 November 2017, 12:30pm Henry Cavendish Room, Peterhouse

Present:

Mr Tim Milner (Chair), Mr David Goode (Secretary), Mrs Rachel Rowe (Support Officer), Dr Gemma Burgess, Dr John Xuereb, Dr Karen Ottewell, Dr Liz Morfoot, Mr Ian Wright, Dr Carmel McEniery, Mr Graham Allen, and Professor Martin Jones.

The meeting began at 12:31pm.

Following the election on 10 November, two new Board members were welcomed to the meeting – Mr Graham Allen and Professor Martin Jones.

1. Apologies:

Apologies were received from Saba Alai.

2. Declarations of interest:

None.

3. Minutes of previous meeting:

The minutes of the meeting held on 8 November 2017 were confirmed as a correct record, subject to one amendment regarding the election.

4. Matters arising:

a. Governance Review:
Nothing to report.
b. Research Office Review:
Nothing to report.

The Board was reminded of the ballot for the final vacancy and members were encouraged to vote.

5. Strategy and work plan for the coming year:

The new Board members were allocated to working groups, and the Board continued to discuss and refine the potential topics for the working groups to consider during the year.

6. Any other business:

It was agreed to change the start time of future meetings to 12:15pm.

7. Date of next meeting:

The first meeting of the new term will be held on Wednesday 24 January 2018 at 12:15pm in the Henry Cavendish Room at Peterhouse.

The meeting closed at 1:49pm.

Rachel Rowe Support Officer