MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCRUTINY

MINUTES

Wednesday 30 May 2018, 12:15pm Henry Cavendish Room, Peterhouse

Present:

Mr Tim Milner (Chair), Mr David Goode (Secretary), Dr Gemma Burgess, Dr Karen Ottewell, , Dr Carmel McEniery, Mr Ian Wright, Mr Graham Allen, Dr John Xuereb, Dr Liz Morfoot and Ms Edna Murphy.

The meeting began at 12:35pm.

1. Apologies:

Apologies were received from Professor Martin Jones, Dr Richard Mortier and Mrs Rachel Rowe (Support Officer)

2. Declarations of interest:

None.

3. Minutes of previous meeting:

The minutes of the meeting held on 16 May 2018 were confirmed as a correct record.

4. Matters arising:

The Board discussed the disclosure of documents in the context of the letter received from Professors Yates, Edwards and Smith and in particular in relation to any legal advice that had been taken.

5. Progress reports from Working Groups on sections of the 23rd Report:

Updates were received from the Working Groups and the overall focus on Finance, Resource and Governance as overarching themes remained in place. The publication of the Report of the Council on the financial position and budget of the University, recommending allocations from the Chest for 2018–19, 'The Allocations Report' was due that week and would be likely to require significant attention and influence the commentary in several areas.

6. Dates of future meetings:

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 13 June at 12:15pm at Peterhouse. It was agreed that further meetings might be scheduled as necessary in order to discuss and complete the Report.

7. Any other business:

Nominations in the bye-election for a one-year term to replace Dr Morfoot from 30 September 2018 would open in the *Reporter* that week and the Chair asked members to encourage suitable candidates to stand. Any member of the Regent House was eligible.

The meeting closed at 1.58pm.