skip to content



Thursday, 21 January 2010 at 12.00pm
Leslie Stephen Room, Trinity Hall

Present: Mr Paul ffolkes Davis (Chairman); Mrs Jamie Horsley (Secretary); Miss Emma Easterbrook (Support Officer); Professor Richard Bowring, the Revd Jeremy Caddick; Mr Kevin Coutinho; Dr Margaret Glendenning; Mr David Goode; Dr Susan Oosthuizen; Dr Jane Spencer; Mr James Trevithick; and the Revd Lindsay Yates.

  1. Apologies
    Dr Catherine MacKenzie.
  2. Minutes for Meeting of 12 November 2009
  3. Matters Arising
  4. Guest: Professor John Rallison, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education
    (i) Professor Rallison gave an insight into his role and the issues that affect his role.
    (ii) Current financial climate, public funding, and Lord Browne's review of fees;
    (iii) Review of the Board of Continuing Education, and the Review of Teaching and Learning Support Services Strategy;
    (iv) Graduate Education: Board of Graduate Studies (BOGS), Code of Practice, MPhils, and MRes;
    (v) Overseas students;
    (vi) Bologna Agreement;
    (vii) Social Sciences Review;
    (viii) Relationship between the University and the Colleges;
    (ix) Statute U; and
    (x) Publication of Reports.
  5. Reporters for 26 November, 30 November, 2 December, 9 December and 16 December 2009
    (i) University's Strategy for Learning and Teaching 2009 – 2012;
    (ii) Review of Learning and Teaching Support Services Report July 2008;
    (iii) Annual Reports of Council and the General Board;
    (iv) Reports and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 July 2009;
    (v) Council's Response to the 14th Annual Report;
    (vi) Joint Report on disciplinary, dismissal and grievance procedures; and
    (vii) Annual Report to Council from Audit Committee.
  6. Minutes of the Audit Committee for the Meeting of 15 October 2009
    (i) Clinical Neurosciences; and
    (ii) HPCF.
  7. Meeting of 8 January 2010 with Mr Andrew Reid, Director of Finance

  8. University Combination Room Lift

  9. Confirmed Future Guests:
    (i) 4 February 2010: Mr Nigel Brown, Chairman of the Audit Committee;
    (ii) 18 February 2010: Dr Jonathan Nicholls, Registrary; and
    (iii) 13 May 2010: Dr Rebecca Lingwood, Director of Continuing Education.
  10. Any Other Business
  11. Date of Next Meeting:
    Guest: Mr Nigel Brown, Chairman of the Audit Committee
    12.00pm on Thursday, 4 February 2010
    Leslie Stephen Room, Trinity Hall

Emma Easterbrook
Support Officer
4 February 2010